About VVMF

Memorial Fund Staff

Jim Knotts, President and Chief Executive Officer

Viktor Zikas, Chief Development Officer

*Adam Arbogast, Senior Director, Direct Response & Digital Strategy – ext. 113 

*Michael Croan, Digital and Content Producer – ext. 105 

Steve Delp, Senior Advisor of Outreach (part-time) – ext. 112  

*Rodney Gonsalves, The Wall That Heals Site Manager (part-time) 

Maury Izzett, Program Manager – ext. 109

Elaine Koontz, Digital Communications Manager – ext. 104 

*Luz Lovins,  Senior Director of Philanthropy – ext. 117 

Nancy McCormick, Office Manager – ext. 100

Cathy Miller, The Wall That Heals Program Manager – ext. 127 

*Vic Muschler, The Wall That Heals Site Manager (part-time) 

Tim Tetz, Director of Outreach – ext. 116  

*Teresa Wachter, Database & Donor Relations Manager – ext. 110 

Terry Walker, Director of Accounting and Administration – ext. 106 

Callie Wright, Director of Education (part-time) – ext. 123 

Heidi Zimmerman, Vice President, Programs and Communications – ext. 118 

*These members of the staff are not based in Washington, D.C.

About VVMF

Board of Directors

Alan Buckelew, Chairman of the Board
Vietnam Veteran

Francis (France) Hoang, Treasurer
Operation Enduring Freedom Veteran
West Point graduate and US Army veteran

Sharon Bannister
Gold Star daughter
Volunteer at The Wall
Major General (Dr.), US Air Force

Denis Faherty
Vietnam Veteran
Captain, US Navy (Ret.)

David Hine
Vietnam Era Veteran
Senior Master Sergeant, US Air Force (Ret.)

Miguel Howe
Partner, Cicero Group
Colonel, US Army (Ret.)

Marty Marks
Gold Star daughter, Army spouse
Military family advocate

Allen McCabe
Vice President, Hughes Network Systems
Master Volunteer at The Wall

Michael McMahon
Vietnam Veteran
Volunteer at The Wall

Norman Murray
Vietnam Veteran

Jim Knotts (non-voting member of the Board)
VVMF President and CEO
Air Force Academy graduate
Gulf War Veteran

Jan C. Scruggs
Founder and President Emeritus
Vietnam Veteran


William F. Murdy
Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army
Chairman, Thayer Hotel and Thayer Leader Development Group
Vietnam Veteran

Michael J. Nardotti, Jr.
Vietnam Veteran
Major General, US Army (Ret.)

Janis Nark
President, JJ Snow, Ltd.
Vietnam Veteran
Lieutenant Colonel, US Army Reserve (Ret.)

Harry G. Robinson, III, FAIA, AICP
Former President, TRG International
Professor & Dean Emeritus, Howard University
Vietnam Veteran

John O. Woods Jr., P.E.
Chairman Emeritus, Woods Peacock Engineering Consultants
Vietnam Veteran

Jim Knotts Headshot
About VVMF

Jim Knotts, President and CEO

Jim Knotts is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund (VVMF), the nonprofit organization that built The Wall in 1982. He is an Air Force veteran of the Persian Gulf War and a graduate of the Air Force Academy.

He now leads the effort at VVMF to honor the service and sacrifices of Vietnam veterans – those who sacrificed all, those who served, and those who waited for the service members to return – as well as those who serve today. Preserving the legacy of service from generation to generation – from Vietnam to the Persian Gulf War, to Iraq and Afghanistan – is Jim’s personal commitment and a part of the ongoing education efforts of VVMF.

Prior to his leadership role at VVMF, Jim served five years as the CEO of Operation Homefront, a national nonprofit that provides emergency financial and other assistance to the families of service members and wounded warriors. During his tenure, the organization grew dramatically in number of people assisted, diversity of programs, and financial support. The organization was chosen to advise the Secretary of Defense on a nonprofit roundtable.

Jim previously worked in industry at Lockheed Martin headquarters, where he was Director of Corporate Citizenship, including philanthropy and community outreach, and Director of Web Communications.

During his almost ten years in the Air Force, his career spanned service in the Persian Gulf War, at the headquarters of U.S. Southern Command, and in the Pentagon on the Office of the Secretary of Defense Staff.

Jim is a graduate of the U.S. Air Force Academy (B.S.), the University of South Carolina (M.M.C.) and Strayer University (M.B.A.).